Love does no wrong to others, so love fulfils the requirements of God’s law.

Romans 13:10 New Living Translation (NLT)

Do you hope to break down the walls of diversity?

Are you seeking to promote academic excellence?

Is the personal safety of your students important to you?

Are you keen to equip your students with the skills to develop healthy relationships?

If you answered ‘yes’ to any of these questions, then perhaps you need, ‘Discovering the 5 Love Languages at School.’ This is a great resource if you are teaching Habit 1. Be Loving. Sometimes we are simply not sure how to show love to others. We think we are being loving, but something is just not working. It is time to discover The 5 Love Languages.

If you don’t know about The Five Love Languages already, then it is time to discover a wonderful way to foster positive, loving relationships.

Simply put, we all have a primary love language and we all have a love tank that needs filling.

What do you think your primary love language might be?

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch


Gary Chapman has written several books and after I read ‘The 5 Love Languages’, I then went straight back and bought The Five Love Languages of Teenagers.’ (My copy is badly torn and some pages are still wet from the day I dropped it in the bath. Other than that – it is fine!)

One of my favourite books by Gary Chapman and Jennifer Thomas is The Five Languages of Apology’. Knowing and understanding how to apologise is a skill we all need to learn if we want healthy thriving relationships. Our students need to learn this when they are young. I am a firm believer in early intervention.

So please, do take a look at ‘Discovering the 5 Love Languages at School (Grades 1-6)’ written by Gary Chapman and D.M. Freed.

Imagine a school or indeed a society where everyone focused on caring for others. This amazing curriculum is written for primary school students but there are ‘The 5 Love Languages’ resources for all ages. You see, all people seek to be loved. However, we may need to be loved differently. If we understand Love Languages, then communication is opened up and connections are made.

So which love language do you speak?  For a fun super quick quiz you might enjoy, try this activity. Go to ‘The 5 Love Languages’ website and click on the tab at the top called ‘Quizzes’.

Enjoy learning and understanding the Love Languages of those around you.

‘Spread love wherever you go. Let no one ever come to you without leaving happier.’

Mother Teresa